Transportation Department

For some, cars were mere transportation appliances–devices to transport people and cargo from one point to another.

These are the folks that sat on car hoods. Piled groceries on their car’s hood or trunk. Their steel-bodied pack mules sported faded paint, unrepaired scratches, dents, and dings.

Cars at the end of their planned obsolescence, purchased on the cheap.  Picasso would be proud of mismatched doors, temporarily bracketed headlights after minor parking lot accidents.  Just enough to keep on the right side of the law.

Sometimes due to financial constraints, there wasn’t a choice.  During my teens and early adulthood, I drove some very flawed automobiles.  Now, that I have a choice, I no longer choose to do so.

What I do understand, is it doesn’t bother the person driving the old clunker, already covered with dents, when another dent occurs, as much as it would the person with a newer car.

It may be a sickness, but automobiles for some of us, are part of our egos.  We spend hours keeping The Silver Flash or Old Betsey shined and polished.

The wealthy individual that recently wrecked his new 288,000 Ferrari, shortly after purchase–I’ll never understand.

Old clunker, or shiny new “Chromemobile?”  What’s your pleasure?  Did you have an interesting hand-me-down first car?

 

Author: warturoadam77p

65 year old married retired communications worker with three grown children, transplanted from the Midwest to the sunny Gulf Coast.

5 thoughts on “Transportation Department”

  1. I did not have my own car until I landed my first teaching job (1969) and bought a new MGB, which has been the only new car purchase over all these years. There have been some fun ones along the way, notably a bug eye Sprite and a couple of VW beetles. They all reached their demise in less than glorious fashion.
    Speaking of teen-age boys and young men and their cars/trucks, something that I have noticed as time passes is that they no longer get old vehicles and fix them up both mechanically and visually. Mechanically I understand because of so much computer stuff – my husband who used to repair almost anything now opens the hood and just scratches his head.
    But visually, the auto companies have now taken it upon themselves to apply graphics and fancy paint jobs that guys buy, thus eliminating the fun and creativity of doing their own thing. ( But then, I am in Alaska and I don’t know what happens in the rest of the US).
    Seems like many parts of our culture have gone that route – someone else deciding what’s cool and selling it to us.
    Guess I’m just getting old!

    1. I’d have to agree that everything seems to be pre-packaged. Fixing up old classic cars is now a rich man’s sport–as attested to by the various auction houses. Most of us can’t afford to maintain a stable of classic cars that are never driven, except for being trailered to car shows. My younger brother and his sons have an affinity for fixing up old Mustangs and Broncos. They do a good job; fix rust issues; make them presentable, not show quality.
      The first car that was actually mine was a full-size, black, four-door Ford sedan. It got me from point A to point B–surprisingly, it had A/C and power steering. I didn’t have a lot of money back then–thankfully it was pretty reliable.

Leave a Reply

