Don’t Look At Me That Way

Brown eyes pleaded.  My two dogs wanted belly rubs–made it impossible to write.

Sometimes pet owners, sports enthusiasts, assume others have the same passions, as they do.  That’s wrong and causes resentment.

Dog hair accumulates everywhere.  The vacuum cleaner does double duty.  Wet dog smells can be unpleasant.

It was a conscious choice to adopt them.  Along with that came responsibilities of proper care and attention.

I’m introverted and these two make me happy.  They help me navigate through a sometimes strange, uncaring world.

Who greets you at the door?  Who wakes you up in the morning?  Perhaps it’s only for treats?  I don’t care.

If I wanted to feel unappreciated–I’d go back to work.  I’m retired–it’s not going to happen.

 

Author: warturoadam77p

65 year old married retired communications worker with three grown children, transplanted from the Midwest to the sunny Gulf Coast.

Leave a Reply

